Penang

I’m home, and finally back on track with everything. It always takes a while to get sorted out after a holiday, but I think coming back right smack into Christmastime takes a bit longer!

So the holiday was lovely, despite it being rainy season in Malaysia. We timed it for November to make it for my mum’s 60th birthday, which was brilliant. My brother in London made it home as well, so the whole family was together – been a while since the last time. We all went away for a wee holiday to Penang, an island about 4 hour’s drive north of Kuala Lumpur, and had a great time there.

Penang Bridge (taken from the ferry)
2011-11-14 Penang 01

Gareth and I also visited the beautiful Kek Lok Si Buddhist temple.
2011-11-16 Penang 03

And there was lots of hanging out at the beach. Here’s my brother parasailing.2011-11-17 Penang 07

I also managed to get a little knitting done, including my currrent favourite hexipuff “the Penang puff” with a little pinang tree on it. It may look like a coconut tree, but the difference is in the shorter and more upward bunching leaves. This is what I have decided anyway.
2011-12-18

The pinang (areca palm) tree, which gives its name to Pulau Pinang / Penang Island.
2011-11-17 Penang 08

When we were back in KL Gareth and I also investigated FRIM (Forest Research Institute Malaysia), which has jungles trails open to visitors (nothing too hardcore, I managed well enough).

We saw some interesting blueish ferns
2011-11-21 FRIM 03

And some giant leaves (elephant ear)
2011-11-21 FRIM 04

Leave a comment

