NaBloPoMo

Is it a broken keyboard? Is it a choral exercise? No, it’s National Blog Post Month!

The idea is to blog every day of this month. The folks over at BlogHer started this up a few years ago, and later branched out to having it every month, with different themes. November still remains the most popular, and it’s also the original month they started with. There’s no theme this month, it’s just “blogging for blogging’s sake.”

As usual, when I saw someone else mention it on Twitter, I was interested, found out a bit more, wasn’t sure if I could commit to it, and then next thing I knew I was signed up… I normally blog about once a week, so this will be a challenge. There’s always the old “I don’t know what to write about,” and I feel my writing style is quite ‘report-like,’ so I don’t often come across something during an ordinary day and get fantastically inspired down a whole line of narrative…(see how I used a writery word there, I’m trying!). But BlogHer have a list of post prompts for this and previous months, and WordPress also do a daily prompt, so there’s plenty of help for topic ideas. I think for me the real challenge will be putting aside enough time to sit down at the computer (after negotiating with Gareth, probably using cups of tea as currency) and then getting into the swing of writing. Here come the very short posts!

What most people seem to advise is that you need to start deciding what you’re going to write about, and start planning your posts – which will be the difference for me, as I usually just write about whatever I’ve been doing or thinking about (or thinking about doing). So it’ll be an exercise in organising and planning as well as writing. It’ll also be worth making good use of tools like the Wordpress app for blogging on the go, and the ‘publish later’ feature for writing posts in advance. That’s what they’re there for!

I don’t know if it’s a bit of a cop out, blogging about the blogging challenge, but it’s my first time so I think I’m allowed 🙂 Fingers crossed I make it to the end! 1 down, 29 to go!

NaBloPoMo November 2012

4 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo

      • I’m sure you’re right. It’s just that when I was looking at the prompts, there were none for the weekend, so I thought that it was free to do what you wanted. Thanks! Good luck as well 🙂

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures | Time flies when you're having fun…

Leave a comment

