Owl (s)watch

I mentioned before that I’ve been wanting to do the Kate Davies Owls jumper, and got some yarn from GSoY with that in mind. So as per the pattern I started swatching, in the round, on 6.5mm needles.

Owls jumper 01

My gauge comes in at 16 stitches over 4 inches. What does the pattern require?

13 stitches over 4 inches.

No, Sakthi, no matter how beautiful, no matter how much you can just see the jumper in a tweedy turquoise, aran weight yarn is not the same as chunky…

I don’t want to go up a needle size, as I feel this gauge is on the slightly looser side already, and the pattern is meant to be at a slightly tight gauge. The owls came out nicely though, which bodes well for when I do eventually get some chunky yarn 🙂
Owls jumper 02

So it’s back to the drawing board with 490m of turquoise and 160m of blue aran…

A couple of patterns in Ravelry have caught my eye so far…
Cadence – I’m thinking turquoise, with the patterned yoke in blue
Bramblewood vest – Turquoise, with the cables in blue

Watch this space…

Leave a comment

