2013 roundup

Better late than never: a look back at 2013.

January
I tried to get a little organised, and made a memo board and mail organiser for our kitchen.
We also got one of two new fishtanks this year!
Mail organiser 07

February
In February Gareth and I finally got permanent jobs. His was a new role, while mine was with a new company. We’ve been really lucky to get the sort of jobs we’ve been wanting, and we’re certainly enjoying them.
2013-02-24 Baking day

March
I set off to Disneyland for my friend Joules’ hen weekend. This year we also lost a friend who had been in a road accident. He was a walking database of football and film knowledge (particularly Bond films), and we miss his cheeky humour.
2013-03-04 Joules' hen weekend

April
It was a year of weddings, starting with our friends Sam and Joules. My parents and one of my brothers also made it up to Aberdeen for a wee visit.
Dalmeny

May
We got to see Bill Bailey, one of my favourite comedians, and I also got to visit the Aberdeen harbour control tower.
2013-05-10 VTS

June
We headed over to Malaysia for our summer holiday and my friend Racheal’s wedding, and squeezed in a trip to Bali as well.
2103-06-05 KL

July
In July we visited Aviemore, and also got the second fishtank of 2013 (making it three in total).
2013-11-17

August
Gareth’s parents came up for a visit, the garden was at its peak, I headed down to Manchester for another hen weekend, and I learnt about some of the women that are part of Aberdeen’s history. It was also around July that the campaign to keep women on banknotes was won, but by August we got a good look at the misogyny that’s still out there.
2013-08-03 Walk for Women Aberdeen

September
September was when I finally set foot in Scandinavia, with a nice wee visit to Stavanger and Haugesund. We also attended wedding number three this month, at the lovely Glen Tanar estate.
2013-09-15 Norwegian Canning Museum

October
Autumn rolled in, but generally October was fairly quiet, punctuated by a few work events.
image

November
This month saw the last two weddings, one in Sheffield and one in Aberdeen, and we finished off November with an evening of Christmas crafting.
2013-11-30 Salt dough ornaments

December
Plenty of excitement in December, as on top of the usual chaotic fun of Christmastime, we got engaged as well. And to finish off wonderfully, my cousin, who’d been critical in hospital for several weeks, was discharged just before New Year’s Eve.
2013-12-24 Sherry

2014 is already off to a great start. Earlier this week I applied for Indefinite Leave to Remain (hence being occupied putting together documents), and it was granted. So basically I now have permanent residency in the UK, which means no more worrying about visa applications, no more awkward questions from immigration or job interviews (or marriage registrars), no more worrying that I won’t be allowed back in again. It’s a good feeling.

Last year I said I’d come to that point where everyone I know is either attending weddings or organising them, and now it’s our turn…no doubt parts of the wedding planning process will make their way into the blog. I’m looking forward to another year of adventures, and I hope all your 2014s have kicked off as well as mine!

2 thoughts on “2013 roundup

  1. Sounds like a big beautiful year with lot of awesome highs and a couple of learning lows to balance it out. Love you and please know that you have an arsenal of girls ready to be your hands and feet here if you need help! 🙂 I will chase down quotes for you and find the best damn muruku if needed.
    2014 is going to be great!

    • Thank you Rach! I know you girls are there for me, but it means a lot to hear it before I even ask! We’ll take all the help we can get 🙂 xxx

Leave a comment

