A crochet day

I attended a Carol Meldrum crochet class last weekend, at Wool for Ewe. It was on alternative granny squares, and learning a different way of joining up pieces into larger items like blankets.

It was a small class of 8, and we were welcomed with a lovely bowl of yarn (and cake!).
2014-10-25 Crochet class

We started off with little squares,
2014-10-25 Crochet class

then joined them up at the corners and added a chevron border. Both of these techniques were new to me, and I found the “3 treble together” decreases for the chevron very satisfying!
2014-10-25 Crochet class

Grey was a popular choice – my friend Olivia combined it with brighter blues.
2014-10-25 Crochet class

We also did a larger square, and were shown how a simple border can be used to join together various sized squares for different pattern effects. Mine is on the left, and reminds me of a watermelon. Olivia’s is on the right.
2014-10-25 Crochet class

Carol also brought along some beautiful samples to inspire us. She’s a brilliant designer, and such a patient teacher. If you get the chance to attend a Carol Meldrum class, do it!
2014-10-25 Crochet class

2014-10-25 Crochet class

I brought Usain Bolt along too, to meet his designer. He’s tried knitting, and now he’s ventured into crochet.
2014-10-25 Crochet class

I really enjoyed the day. I learned some new techniques, spent some quality crochet time with a friend, and met some interesting people – conversations included knitting and crochet topics, as well as travel, psychology experiments, trashy TV, and a bizarre game/sport/activity called Ingress.

I continued my wee sampler at home, but I ran out of the lovely peacock blue yarn. I’ve not used this yarn before, but I really liked it – very soft and nice to work with, and a lovely range of colours – I’ll probably get more for other projects: Artesano Superwash Merino (DK).
2014-10-25 Crochet class

These pieces will go nicely in my ‘swatch blanket’. This is another one of my great plans – I’ve been saving all my tension squares and pattern swatches, and someday I’ll join them all together into a blanket. I think this class has inspired me to give them all crochet borders, which will unify all the different colours and textures, and also make it easier to sew them up.

Meanwhile, I can also reveal some of the knitting I’ve been doing.

I made the Yarn Harlot’s Cutest Booties for my workmate’s new baby. Their in our work’s corporate colours, which I thought she’d find amusing. They’re really itty-bitty and cute, and not too difficult to knit up – like mini socks. And they only took about just under 25g of Regia sock yarn for the pair.
_DSC0162 - Copy

And I finally finished the shawl I’ve been knitting for my friend Lex’s 30th birthday. Quite belated, but still within the same year!
2014-10-28 Lex's shawl

It was a nice and simple pattern, which turned out really well. I also really enjoyed using this yarn: Twilley’s Freedom Sincere Organic Cotton DK.
2014-10-28 Lex's shawl

I think she likes it 🙂
2014-10-28 Lex's shawl

4 thoughts on “A crochet day

  1. That crochet class sounds very worthwhile. I love your idea of joining swatches with crochet – I have a similar pile of them and had wondered if they could be patchworked together, but had never worked out how to do it. Someday! Your shawl is a lovely gift. And – I recognise the Belmont! Glad it’s still going.

Leave a comment

