International Women’s Day 2015

This International Women’s Day I shall be reading Mary Wollstonecraft’s Vindication of the Rights of Woman.

Untitled

With chapter titles like these,

Observations on the State of Degradation to which Woman is Reduced by Various Causes

Morality Undermined by Sexual Notions of the Importance of Good Reputation

Of the Pernicious Effects which Arise from the Unnatural Distinctions Established in Society

I’m looking forward to an interesting read, and to finding out what women were thinking and feeling about their place in society back in 1792.
The text is in the public domain, and is available to download here.

If you’d like some other ideas for Women’s Day reading, here are some books by and about women and girls, which I’ve read in the last few years and which made an impression on me:
The Duchess, by Amanda Foreman
Purple Hibiscus, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, by Jenny Lawson (aka the Bloggess)
How To Be a Woman, by Caitlin Moran

I haven’t read these ones, but they sound very interesting indeed:
11 new and recent books for the feminist reader – a bit of a cheat as this is a list, but they all sound exciting!
The Unfortunate Importance of Beauty, by Amanda Filipacchi
Elizabeth is Missing, by Emma Healey
When I Grow Up I Want To Be Mary Beard, by Megan Beech
The Bees, by Laline Paull
The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly, by Hwang Sun-Mi  (ok, these last two are about female animals, but the lives they depict sound very similar to human female lives…)

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

4 thoughts on “International Women’s Day 2015

  1. Very interesting! I devoured feminist theory in the 1990s, and lectured in Women’s Studies until 2003, but since then haven’t been so attracted to reading about feminism. However, this looks like a great list. My daughter, through absolutely no efforts on my part, identifies herself as a feminist. When she is well enough to read again, perhaps she will be interested in some of these. I would say one of the most interesting “feminist” books I’ve read is The Homemaker, written in the 1920s by Dorothy Canfield Fisher. (A Persephone book)

    • I’m so pleased to hear that your daughter identifies as a feminist, with or without your intervention 🙂
      I didn’t realise you lectured in Women’s Studies – makes it even nicer that you found my wee list of interest 🙂 I guess there’s a mix of items; some that specifically identify as feminist and others which simply feature multi-dimensional women.
      I shall look up The Homemaker, thanks!

  2. Pingback: International Women’s Day 2016 | Time flies when you're having fun…

Leave a comment

