Happy New Year (better later than never)

What a funny old year 2016 has been…I’m not even going to talk about what’s been going on in the rest of the world, but in my little world it felt like a very long year indeed; many other friends and family seem to have felt the same way too. Nothing bad has happened, in fact there have been many opportunities, particularly at work – they’ve just been quite challenging. One thing in particular is that in September I started a part-time course through work. It’s a certificate course at undergraduate level, in Petroleum Data Management – which is what I do, but after this I’ll have something official that says so 🙂 It’s been going well, but of course it does take up quite a bit of time in the evenings and weekends. It finishes in May, so more regular blogging and knitting will resume soon.

In the meantime we did get up to other things through the year:

An amazing honeymoon in Japan – did I mention there were cherry blossoms…?
2016-04-15 Nikko

Creating a nice sitting space in the garden, and enjoying some lovely blooms and wild visitors
2016-05-08 Garden

2016-05-28

2016-06-18

2016-11-13

2016-07-23

Visits to catch up with friends and family in London, Perth, and Jersey, plus visits from them to Aberdeen too. There was also a brilliantly timed coincidence when I was on a work trip to London, where I stayed on with my brother for the weekend and managed to surprise my parents who were in London for a short visit!
(It turns out I’m rubbish at taking photos of people…)

A lovely holiday in Cornwall with my brother and sister in-law.
2016-08-22 Cornwall

Many baby fishies, plus a new tank – no fish in this one though, it is a wee marine tank for psychedelic little corals and a couple of snails – more reports on the underwater world to come.
2016-07-23 Coral tank

We rounded off the year with a wonderful holiday in KL in December, meeting my new niece (her parents prefer not to have photos posted, but I assure you, without bias, she is the cutest thing ever), catching up with friends and family (including a friend I hadn’t seen in 12 years!) and a short trip to Vietnam over New Year.

There was some knitting as well, mainly for babies at work (while my poor friend’s birthday scarf is still coming along very slowly and belatedly). Somehow I haven’t knitted or sewn anything for my own niece – I think there was some anxiety over failure to finish in time for visiting so I resorted to buying stuff. But I think now the ‘new baby’ pressure is over I can make things for her at a more leisurely pace (in larger sizes of course, at the rate I go!).

So, plans for this year? Gareth’s brother will be getting married, which will be our summer highlight. Aside from that, finish course; take more photos (of people too); blog/knit/sew/read more…and not worry if I don’t!

Here’s to a wonderful 2017, and I wish you well for whatever paths you tread this year.
2016-05-14 Muir of Dinnet

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year (better later than never)

  1. Wishing you a really good 2017, with continued happy travel and time with family and friends. Your sun spot in the garden looks so inviting! Lovely flowers too.

Leave a comment

